Latest News

Support for providers in transitioning to the new Aged Care Quality Standards

November 14, 2018

Organisations providing Commonwealth subsidised aged care services are required to comply with the Aged Care Quality Standards (Quality Standards). This includes Home Care services, CHSP, Short Term Restorative Care, Residential Aged Care and the National Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Flexible Aged Care Program. Organisations will be assessed and must be able to provide evidence of their compliance with and performance against the Quality Standards from 1 July 2019.

The Quality Standards focus on outcomes for consumers and reflect the level of care and services the community can expect from organisations that provide Commonwealth subsidised aged care services and are made up of eight individual standards:

  1. Consumer dignity and choice
  2. Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers
  3. Personal care and clinical care
  4. Services and supports for daily living
  5. Organisation’s service environment
  6. Feedback and complaints
  7. Human Resources
  8. Organisational governance.

A webinar to support service providers to get to know the new standards is scheduled for Friday 30 November at 11am AEDT. To register for the webinar click here.

For information on the Terms of Reference for the Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality & Safety click here.

Skip to content